Middle Grade Books by Muslim Women

The Girl and the Ghost
(2020)

by Hanna Alkaf

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

Read More

A Thousand Questions
(2020)

By Saadia Faruqi

Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender and honest middle grade novel tells the story of two girls navigating a summer of change and family upheaval with kind hearts, big dreams, and all the right questions.

Read More

The Weight of Our Sky

by Hanna Alkaf

A music loving teen with OCD does everything she can to find her way back to her mother during the historic race riots in 1969 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in this heart-pounding literary debut.

Read More

Furthermore

by Tahereh Mafi

A spellbinding new world where color is currency, adventure is inevitable, and friendship is found in the most unexpected places.

Read More

Other Words for Home

by Jasmine Warga

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

Read More

A Pocketful of Stars

by Aisha Bushby

Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange alternative world that looks a bit like one of her games

Read More

Laila and the Sands of Time

by Shirin Shamsi

Thirteen-year-old Laila, still grieving over her father's death, goes on their planned pilgrimage with her aunt and uncle. When she is transported back in time to 7th century Arabia, she faces the dangers of the desert, takes on a disguise, and saves a baby's life. But will she ever return to her own time?

Read More

Amina's Voice

by Hena Khan

A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family’s vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community

Read More